Blog Tours, Book Review, Young Adult Fiction

Blog Tour [Like Home]

Click the banner to follow the tour!
Title: Like Home
Author: Louisa Onomé
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: February 23rd, 2021

Where to Buy: Bookshop | Barnes & Noble

Rating: 5 Stars

Thank you Turn the Page Tours and Delacorte Press for an opportunity to be a part of this blog tour.

Synopsis

Fans of Netflix’s On My Block, In the Heights, and readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Ibi Zoboi will love this debut novel about a girl whose life is turned upside down after one local act of vandalism throws her relationships and even her neighborhood into turmoil.

Chinelo, or Nelo as her best friend Kate calls her, is all about her neighborhood Ginger East. She loves its chill vibe, ride-or-die sense of community, and her memories of growing up there. Ginger East isn’t what it used to be, though. After a deadly incident at the local arcade, all her closest friends moved away, except for Kate. But as long as they have each other, Nelo’s good.

Only, Kate’s parents’ corner store is vandalized, leaving Nelo shaken to her core. The police and the media are quick to point fingers, and soon more of the outside world descends on Ginger East with promises to “fix” it. Suddenly, Nelo finds herself in the middle of a drama unfolding on a national scale. Worse yet, Kate is acting strange. She’s pushing Nelo away at the exact moment they need each other most. Nelo’s entire world is morphing into something she hates, and she must figure out how to get things back on track or risk losing everything⁠—and everyone⁠—she loves.

Review

It is so great to be able to share a birthday with the book birthday of Like Home by Louisa Onome. It is a story I really enjoyed and would recommend everyone to pick up and read.

Before jumping into the book, I knew I would automatically enjoy it because I am a huge fan of On My Block and Elizabeth Acevedo’s work. Like Home is a story of gentrification that we all need to read. It’s thought provoking and enticing.  It is also relatable to so many who have experienced the effects gentrification can do to their communities; the place they call home.  Like Home is more than just a delightful read. It takes you on a ride of so many emotions, a friendship that goes through the motions, and a girl trying to find herself in the midst of it all.

Louisa is an amazing writer and hooked me into the story from the very first page. Between the backdrop of the Ginger East neighborhood to the journey of each character, Louisa fills the novel with rick settings and amazingly complex characters.

The story is told through Chinelo who is the main character in the story. Chinelo is a great character and has such a relatable self-discovery story. Not every teen has an easy journey and Chinelo allows the reader to dive into her world and into how complicated it can be to just be a normal teen at times. This is all with dealing and coping with the trauma of seeing two of her closest friends leave. Her anxiety towards this shows when she feels her relationship with Kate become rocky. Kate; a spunky girl who loves her family is wholesome, realistic and relatable. Kate’s and Chinelo’s relationship is one that feels so real. You feel like you are the third person observing slightly form the outside and hoping all will be well. Their friendship is also dynamic and the two together share such a powerful message in a way that doesn’t feel forced but fells natural.

It is such a great book and you should buy it!

About the Author

Louisa Onomé is a writer of books for teens. She holds a BA in professional writing from York University and is represented by Claire Friedman at InkWell Management.

A part of the Author Mentor Match round 3 cohort, she is also a writing mentor and all-around cheerleader for diverse works and writers. When she is not writing, her hobbies include picking up languages she may never use, trying to bake bread, and perfecting her skincare routine. She currently resides in the Toronto area.

Time for a Giveaway!!

Up for grabs, we have TWO (2) finished copies of Like Home by Louisa Onomé! This giveaway will run from February 21st to February 28th at 11:59 PM CST and is open to US residents only. To enter, click the link below!

GIVEAWAY LINK: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/1e4a114d22/?

1 thought on “Blog Tour [Like Home]”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s