Blog Tours, Book Review, YA Contemporary, Young Adult Fiction

Book Tour [Review]: The Edge of Summer

Title: The Edge of Summer
Author: Erica George
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 14th, 2022
Genres: Young Adult Contemporary Romance

Where to buy: Amazon | BookDepository | Barnes & Noble | IndieBound | Indigo

Thank you TBR and Beyond Tour and Little, Brown Books for Young Readers for a review copy and the opportunity to be on this tour.

Rating: 4 stars

Synopsis

Fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson will be swept away by this big-hearted novel about one girl navigating first loss and first love during her summer on Cape Cod.

Saving the whales has been Coriander Cabot and her best friend Ella’s dream since elementary school. But when tragedy strikes, Cor is left to complete the list of things they wanted to accomplish before college alone, including a marine biology internship on Cape Cod.

Cor’s summer of healing and new beginnings turns complicated when she meets Mannix, a local lifeguard who completely takes her breath away. But she knows whatever she has with Mannix might not last, and that her focus should be on rescuing the humpback whales from entanglement. As the tide changes, Cor finds herself distracted and struggling with her priorities.

Can she follow her heart and keep her promise to the whales and her best friend?

Review

The Edge of Summer is such a good summer read. It is also a story that talk about loss and grief in a way that feels okay. Ericka’s writing style with this story was concise and easy to follow.

We are introduced to Coriander who is staying with her Uncle as she prepares for a cool marine internship. It is part of a bucket list she created with her friend Ella. She is now checking things off on her own while dealing with the loss of her friend Ella. Throughout the summer Cor starts a romance with lifeguard Mannix and navigate loss and new love. When thinking of Cor and Mannix, their relationship was messy but the chemistry was there. The feelings didn’t feel forced or too perfect and it was something that felt relatable even to an adult like myself. While Cor can be a hard character to warm up to with some of her actions such as not responding, placing her anger or sadness on the wrong people, I still appreciated how much of a teenager Cor was. Teens are not perfect, and we’ve all been in some situation where our emotions are just a lot sometimes. I appreciated how Cor was written while also acknowledging that some of her actions were hurtful, especially towards Mannix.  Speaking of Mannix, he was a cool, carefree kind of teen boy growing feelings for a girl he just met.

When thinking of the setting of Cape Cod and the focus of whales, I felt like I was reading on a beach hearing the ocean sounds. The one things I enjoyed was how the story intertwined advocacy for whales while also connecting that to the main story. It made me as the reader feel inspired to want to keep those majestic sea mammals safe while learning more about them. Overall, I was a fan of the whale talk because it was not forced talk. Overall, this was a quick and fun read. If you are a fan of summer contemporary young adult romances, this is a go to read.

About the Author

Erica George is a writer of young adult fiction. She is a graduate of The College of New Jersey with degrees in both English and education, and is currently an MFA student at the Vermont College of Fine Arts. She resides in scenic northern New Jersey, but spends her summers soaking up the salty sea air on Cape Cod.
Many themes in Erica’s writing rotate around environmental activism and helping young people find their voice. When she’s not writing, you can find her exploring river towns, whale watching, or engrossed in quality British drama with her dog at her side.

Author Links: Website | Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter

Follow the Tour!

Book Tour

June 13th
The Book Dutchesses – Promotional Post
Jen Jen Reviews – Review

June 14th
Kait Plus Books – Interview
Sadie’s Spotlight – Promotional Post

June 15th
Stuck in Fiction – Promotional Post
A Bronx Latina Reads – Review

June 16th
Lost in Neverland – Review
One More Chapter – Review

June 17th
Melancholic Blithe – Interview
Book lover’s book reviews – Promotional Post & Tik Tok

June 18th
Nine Bookish Lives – Promotional Post
Phannie the ginger bookworm – Review & Playlist

June 19th
Whispering Stories – Interview
Justice For Readers – Promotional Post

Instagram Tour

June 13th
booking.with.janelle -Promotional Post
booksandsnapshots – Review
tinybooknest – Favorite Quotes

June 14th
writingrosereads – Promotional Post
sadiesspotlight – Blogger’s Choice

June 15th
feliciareads11 – Blogger’s Choice
belle.bookcorner – Review & Favorite Quotes

June 16th
tbrandbeyond – Promotional Post
katiereads23 – Review
_leahreads – Blogger’s Choice

June 17th
bhaneereads_ – Top 5 Reasons to Read The Edge of Summer
bookloversbookreviews – Blogger’s Choice

June 18th
ninebookishlives – Blogger’s Choice
musfira._ – Promotional Post

June 19th
fangirlpixiebooks – Promotional Post
GryffindorBookishNerd – Review
atrailofpages – Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s